top of page

Basketball

Basketball has been a part of my life since I was 8. To me basketball isn’t just a sport, but an outlet from schoolwork, a basis of enjoyment, a place where I can socialize and obviously a source of exercise. After having a hard day at school I can’t wait to go for training. I guess it’s the fact that I’m playing with girls of the same age as myself, that have the same interests as I do, and are all as serious about basketball as I am. It’s also nice to have a different group of friends who are not the same as those friends at school. I sometimes find it easier to talk to my friends at basketball than those from school, I presume it’s because we all spend so much time together.

I play for the team of Rožňava, in junior U19 and women 1st league. We have trainings three times a week and every second weekend we have one match on Saturday and one on Sunday. We have 13 players in the team. We have a really good team. We get on so well and sometimes I feel that we are like sisters, that we are all a big family, even though we are all from different schools.

Every year in summer we have a focus camp in Hungary. I’m always looking forward to that week in the summer when we only focus on our game, skills, condition and of course we have a lot of fun there. Every year we are bonding closer and closer with my teammates. Every day we go swimming, exploring the city, eat a lot of ice cream and we do not only play basketball but we do a lot of crazy stuff like this:

I believe that playing basketball takes me away from difficult things in life. Anytime I feel stressed or need to get away, I turn to basketball. Basketball helps me believe in myself and I can take my mind off everything while I’m playing. All I have on the basketball court is me and the team and nothing else is needed.

Last but not least. I play basketball because I LOVE to! I get so much enjoyment out of it. I just can’t imagine my life without it.


bottom of page